UK Travel Guide


Battle in East Sussex

Built on the site of the Battle of Hastings in 1066, the city of Battle was established by William the Conqueror after his victory. William the Conqueror built the Battle Abbey in gratitude to God for his success. William even marked the death of his opponent, Harold II, by building a high alter at the spot of his fall. The Abbey was almost completely destroyed in 1538, by Henry VIII during the dissolution of the monasteries. Still standing is Abbott's House, which is open to visitors during the summer months. A good view of the battlegrounds can be seen from on top of the Abbey terrace.

The Battle Historical Society Museum shows exhibits on Sussex County from the Neolithic Age to the present day. Many examples are shown from the iron industry that prospered in Sussex, and a reproduction of the Bayeux Tapestry that was made in 1821 can also be seen.

The Gunpowder Plot Day is annually observed in Battle on November 5th. A beautiful show of fireworks mark the date.