UK Travel Guide


Horse Guards Building

Horse Guards building was sited at its present spot as protection for Whitehall Palace and because of the layout of the roads in the vicinity. Like many others built during that time ( mid-17th century), Horse Guards building is from Portland stone. It was built in 1649 in the old Tiltyard but having suffered from fires, storm damage and considerable internal alterations, it became so weakened and dangerous that a complete rebuild was commissioned. This was carried out by William Kent in 1750/1760s and whilst the original function had fallen away the building was until 1876 the headquarters of the war office. It was Charles II who decreed that only members of the Royal family be permitted to pass under the arch and even today this is enforced by the Guards. There are two mounted guards outside the building from 10.00 am – 16.00 pm which offers a great photo opportunity.

Located at: Whitehall, London, SW1

Telephone: n/a

Opens: Daily 10.00am to 4.00pm

Cost: free

Closest Subway Station: Charing Cross Station (Click to see more atrraction at this station)