UK Travel Guide


Dr Johnson's House

This is one of the few properties built in London in 1700 that is still standing today. Situated to the north of Fleet Street,the house is found amongst a maze of courtyards and passages that are a reminder of historic London. Dr Samuel Johnson, who penned the words ”when a man is tired of London, he is tired of life” was born on 18 September 1709 in Lichfield, Staffordshire. Although he left Oxford without a degree, due to lack of funds, he nevertheless compiled the Dictionary of the English Language in 1755 assisted by six clerks, and wrote numerous poems, essays and novels. He lived in this house from 1748 – 1759. Having been restored to its original state during 1911-1912 and again after the war when it suffered bomb damage, the house is open to the public and on display are 18th century mementoes, prints, portraits and furniture, although the house is not regarded as a museum.

Located at: 17 Gough Square, off Fleet Street, London, EC4

Telephone: 020 7353 3745

Opens: Oct-April Mon-Sat 1100am - 1700pm May-Sept Mon-Sat 1100-1730

Cost: Adults GBP4.00, Children GBP1.00

Closest Subway Station: Black Friars Station (Click to see more atrraction at this station)